top of page

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Thanks for subscribing!

Eagles Legends Who Should Have Their Jerseys Retired 

NFL teams have a tradition of retiring jersey numbers of players that made outstanding contributions. This is a very special way to honor that particular player’s legacy. The Philadelphia Eagles currently have nine jersey numbers retired. These players had historic and memorable careers during their time in Philadelphia.

Who is the next Eagles legend that should have their jersey retired? 

Current Retired Numbers

The Eagles have retired nine former players’ jerseys: 

  1. QB Donovan McNabb, #5 

  2. RB Steve Van Buren, #15 

  3. S Brian Dawkins, #20

  4. DB Tom Brookshier, #40

  5. TE Pete Retzlaff, #44

  6. LB Chuck Bednarik, #60

  7. T Al Wistert, #70

  8. DE Reggie White, #92

  9. DT Jerome Brown, #99

Who Is Next? 

The following players deserve consideration for the next time the team decides to retire a jersey. These are former Eagles’ greats that made a huge impact on the team.  

David Akers, K, #2

David Akers is the all-time scoring leader in the history of the Eagles. He made 294 successful field goals in 188 games during his 12-year career in Philadelphia. Akers made the Pro Bowl five times as an Eagle and was the NFL scoring leader during his final year in Philadelphia.  

The team honored Akers by putting him on the 75th Anniversary Eagles team and he is in the Eagles’ Hall of Fame. Akers is no doubt the best kicker in the team’s history. If the Eagles wanted to retire a special teams player’s jersey, Akers should be the first. 

Nick Foles, QB, #9 

Nick Foles will always be remembered as a legend in Philadelphia. The Eagles drafted him in 2013, but he was traded away after two seasons. Foles was brought back in 2017 to be the backup to Carson Wentz. Foles took over for Wentz late in the season. He helped the Eagles clinch the number one seed and put together an improbable playoff run culminating with a Super Bowl Championship. Foles was named the Super Bowl LII MVP after throwing for 373 yards, racking up three touchdown passes, and catching one touchdown.

Super Bowl LII was the most monumental moment in franchise history. The Eagles had never won a Super Bowl before and had a depleted team due to injuries. The Eagles were underdogs in each playoff game, but Foles silenced all the doubters. He played the best football of his career and gave Eagles fans their long-awaited championship. It is hard to imagine a future player wearing a number nine jersey in Philly. 

LeSean McCoy, RB, #25 

LeSean McCoy is the Eagles’ all-time rushing leader. He spent 12 seasons in the NFL and was on the Eagles for half of them. McCoy’s best years were in Philadelphia. He racked up nearly 7,000 rushing yards and 44 touchdowns during his six seasons with the Eagles. 

McCoy was traded away as then-head coach Chip Kelly wanted to build a specific system. This was right after McCoy led the NFL with 1,600 rushing yards in a single season. McCoy was a very exciting player to watch and the greatest running back in modern Eagles’ history. 

Tommy McDonald, WR, #25 

LeSean McCoy is not the only Eagles great to wear number 25. The Eagles could also retire the jersey in honor of Tommy McDonald. The Eagles drafted McDonald in 1957 to play running back and wide receiver. He spent seven years as an Eagle with over 5,000 receiving yards and 66 touchdowns during his time in Philadelphia. 

Tommy McDonald caught a first-half touchdown during the 1960 championship win over the Vince Lombardi coached Packers. He then led the NFL in receiving yards and touchdowns the following season.

In a game in 1961, McDonald had 237 receiving yards which is a franchise record. In 1988, the Eagles named McDonald to the Eagles Hall of Fame. Both Tommy McDonald and LeSean McCoy deserve the honor of having their number 25 retired. 

Jason Peters, LT, #71 

Jason Peters is a future NFL Hall of Famer. The Eagles traded for Peters in 2009 and he spent 12 seasons in Philadelphia. He was a dominant offensive tackle and helped protect various quarterbacks during his tenure.  

Jason Peters racked up plenty of awards during his NFL career. He made the Pro Bowl nine times (seven times as an Eagle), was named to an All-Pro team six times, and was named to the All-Decade NFL Team of the 2010s. Injuries eventually affected Peters late in his career, but he anchored the Eagles’ offensive line for over a decade.  

1 view


bottom of page